The dark side of the hair wash

Don’t do this more than a couple of times a month unless you have oily, resilient hair.  While I still adore a good xie tou fa, I was crashing in a place with a grotty bathroom, so I didn’t want to shower or wash my hair.  Now I can mop off with a towel and some soap in a basin to keep myself from getting stinky, but the hair needs seeing to.  Three washes in a week later, my hair is trashed.

They don’t put conditioner in it, and they don’t take the greatest care in not breaking it when it’s wet.  So now I’m going to experiment with cold-press coconut oil, which I hear is amazing, and leave the blow dryer on the shelf until it’s all healthy again.  The coconut oil is awesome on skin, and I even dab some on my face, which is controversial.  It really gets rid of dry spots.  Unlike the miraculous Argan oil, the coconut oil molecules are actually small enough to penetrate the hair’s shaft.

I ordered some Keratase Elixir Ultime and waited for it to come from Momo with the eagerness of a child waiting for Christmas morning.  I’m not sure if it lived up to my expectations, but it does smell good and I can’t get Frizz Ease here.

Leave a comment